The New IxDA Board

The Interaction Design Association (IxDA) is proud to announce its leadership team for 2008-2009. Upon the completion of three Board Members’ two-year terms and the retirement of two other Board Members earlier in 2007, five individuals from our growing community have been selected to join IxDA’s Board of Directors.

The five new IxDA Board Members are:

  • Nasir Barday
    Sr. User Experience Designer, FactSet Research Systems, New York, NY
  • Bill DeRouchey
    Sr. Interaction Designer, Ziba Design, Portland, OR
  • Janna Hicks DeVylder
    Experience Planning Director, Arc Worldwide, Chicago, IL
  • James Leftwich
    Chief Experience Officer, SeeqPod, Palo Alto, CA
  • Jeremy Yuille
    Interaction Designer, ACID, RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia

They will join the continuing Board Members::

  • Elizabeth Bacon
    Chief Design Officer, Devise, Portland, OR
  • Greg Petroff
    Design Lead, SAP Design Services Team, Office of the CEO, Palo Alto, CA
  • Josh Seiden
    Design Group Manager, Liquidnet, New York, NY
  • Niklas Wolkert
    Sr. Interaction Designer, Ergonomidesign, Bromma, Sweden

The outgoing Board Members are:

  • Robert Reimann, IxDA President
    Associate Creative Director at frog design, Seattle, WA
  • David Malouf, IxDA Vice President, co-founder, and Interaction 08 Co-Chair
    Sr. Interaction Designer, Motorola Enterprise Mobility, Brooklyn, NY
  • Dan Saffer
    IxDA Director, Interaction 08 Conference Co-Chair
    Design Director, Adaptive Path, San Francisco, CA

The entire new Board was presented to the organization by outgoing IxDA Vice President David Malouf. The outgoing IxDA President, Robert Reimann, also presented IxDA co-founder, visionary leader, and tireless supporter David Malouf with a certificate of appreciation and the gift of a One Laptop Per Child XO laptop computer. Through OLPC's Give One Get One program, one XO laptop computer will also go to a child in the developing world. David spoke to the group about the beginnings of IxDA, and the enthusiastic applause of the gathered community reflected its great appreciation for David’s invaluable efforts on IxDA’s behalf.

The IxDA Board has determined its new executive and operational roles, as well:

  • President: Josh Seiden
  • Vice-President: Liz Bacon
  • Treasurer: Bill DeRouchey
  • Secretary: Jeremy Yuille
  • Interaction 09 Chair: Greg Petroff
  • Local Groups: Niklas Wolkert and Janna Hicks DeVylder
  • Communications: Jim Leftwich will be heading up
  • Technology: Nasir Barday

Following the success of Interaction 08, IxDA is gearing up for further growth as a volunteer-driven organization helping to further the profession of interaction design. The entire Board of Directors welcomes input from its global constituency to ensure that we work together towards common goals and provide value to our community.